Not Jane-related post, but a necessary ‘share’

August 23, 2012 at 2:46 AM (General News)

Greetings and Salutations my Fellow Janeites. I just received a lovely parcel from my London friend Mary and as well as my Ponds Moisturising Cream and Hotel Chocolat choccies (yum!), she also included some Radio Times material about the recent BBC2 series ‘Hollow Crown’, which is a new television production featuring Shakespeare’s Richard II, Henry IV and his split personality, and Henry V. I thought I would post the article for you here to read and for those of you who, like me, saw Tom Hiddleston being all wicked and saucy in Thor and The Avengers and developed a crush on him, well, you might like the photos!

Radio Times Hollow Crown Edition June 2012

I would hope that one of the Australian networks obtains the rights to screen these telly adaptations sooner rather than later. Do keep a look out for them and in case I’m still in Thesis Lockdown, could you email me and let me know when to tune in? Thanks!

Oh, and just have to say how much I love the photograph of Ben Wishaw as Richard II. I immediately thought of the Westminster Portrait, currently on loan to the British Museum. So perfectly and beautifully replicated!

Ben Wishaw as Richard II in BBC2’s ‘Hollow Crown’ series

Richard II Westminster Portrait, c. Westminster Abbey

Leave a Reply

